Faculty receive awards for excellence

The State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher announced the names of 361 faculty and staff from throughout the university system as recipients of the 2016-2017 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence. Seven members of the SUNY Purchase community were selected to receive the prestigious award.

Seven staff members and faculty at SUNY Purchase were recipients of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence.
Photo courtesy

The honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement, and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Individuals selected for this honor are role models throughout the SUNY system and beyond.

Purchase College honorees include: Stephen Cooke, associate professor of Chemistry, for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities; Jordan Schildcrout, associate professor of Theatre and Performance, for Excellence in Teaching; Lenka Pichliková, adjunct lecturer in Theatre and Performance, for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching; Ragnhild Utheim, adjunct lecturer in Anthropology, for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching; Christopher Bisignano, director of athletics, for Excellence in Professional Services; Lorraine Miller, office manager and administrative assistant in the School of Film and Media Studies, for Excellence in Professional Services; and Vincent Lanni, general mechanic, residential facilities maintenance, for Excellence in Classified Service.

“The many faculty and staff honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence are the best of our best, having ensured student success as they educate and mentor students with innovative approaches to academic instruction, infuse curricula with applied learning opportunities, adapt best practices from throughout SUNY, and much more,” said Zimpher. “It is an honor to recognize the excellent work of Purchase College’s honorees and that of their colleagues across SUNY. Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients.”

SUNY Purchase President Thomas J. Schwarz said, “We congratulate our honorees on receiving this prestigious award. We’re grateful for their contributions to academic excellence and campus life and have no doubt that the recipients will continue to make us proud of their accomplishments in the years to come.”



Digital Chair - Websites for The Modern Westchester Business